Local Tourist Abroad

It’s true that there’s no place like home.  And for a time, some time ago, London, England was my home.

When I was much younger and living in a foreign city, it was exciting for me just to be there.  To have an address, to navigate the transit system without consulting a map, to have a local pub where the staff knew my “usual.”  We didn’t spend our weekends doing a lot of touristy stuff – after all,  we were locals.   Trips to museums and attractions were reserved for visits from friends and relatives.

St Pauls

Now I have the good fortune to return to London once or twice a year on business.  And when I’m there, I still don’t think of myself a tourist.  And even though I probably should, I don’t spend all my free time running around to museums and exhibits.  It makes me happy just to be there.

Regent Street.  All decked out for the holiday shopping season.

Regent Street. All decked out for the holiday shopping season.

I still feel very much at home in London.  The most wonderful thing about the city is, that as much as it changes, it stays the same.   The old holds its own against the new.  More recent additions to the cityscape such as the Shard, the O2 and the London Eye have made a mark on the horizon but they’ll never, ever eclipse the iconic silhouettes and the significance of Big Ben, Tower Bridge and St. Paul’s.

Houses in Hammersmith.

Houses in Hammersmith

Sunday morning farmers' market

Sunday morning farmers’ market

Harley Street.

Harley Street.

O2

O2 Arena

St. James' Roman Catholic Church, Spanish Place

St. James’ Roman Catholic Church, Spanish Place

Marylebone High Street

Marylebone High Street

Ravensbourne College, Greenwich

Ravensbourne College, Greenwich

Well I guess really I always was – and always will be a tourist in London.

One response to “Local Tourist Abroad

Leave a Reply

